Andhra Pradesh Top Tourist Places- Best Destination in Andhra Pradesh – Andhra Pradesh Tourism ( AP Tourism)


Andhra Pradesh Top Tourist  Places- Best Destination in Andhra Pradesh – Andhra Pradesh Tourism ( AP Tourism)


A visit to the state of Andhra Pradesh is a delight for art lovers, naturalists, religious…who never find a place like it owing to its varied tourist spots. The state with its glorious past and luminous present is escalating towards the future with utmost level of development in various fields. With a very short span of its commencement of development it has climbed the sky attracting every one to see this land of marvel.

Some  of the preferred destinations to visit as follows :
 

Raymonds Tomb

Raymonds Tomb Located in Saroornagar, about 10 km from Hyderabad city centre, the Raymond's Tomb is a 7m high black granite obelisk or the pillared shrine dedicated to Jaochim Raymond, a Frenchman, who was the Comptroller of Ordnance in the court of Nizam Ali Khan.

12.8 Km. A simpits tomb of a French Soldier who entered Ilia service of the ruling Nizam in 1786 atilt soon became the commander of 15,000 men. Made of a black Granite, 7 metoth high, it bears his initials "IR" Raymond, ot a popular figure, known as "Musa Raw" and on his death anniversary, a large Um or fair used to be held.A mysterious grave close to that of Raymond's bears the name of Ann,' Jane Elizabeth, who died in 1809, but nothing else is known about her.
A rare gesture of honour by the second Nizam Asaf Jahi towards the late Michel Joachim Marie Raymond (France, 1755-1798), a French mercenary, a military-commander-in-service and a close friend. He came to India and in 1786 joined the service of the ruling Nizam of Hyderabad as an ordinary soldier. He worked his way up rapidly, and when he died just twelve years later, in 1798, he was the commander of a 19,000-strong army. He was not only, held in high esteem by the Nizam, but also won the admiration of the common people. He was famous among the Hindus and Muslims as the Hindus called him Musa Ram and the Muslims called him Musa Rahim. Writes historian Malleson: "No European of mark who followed him in India, ever succeeded in gaining to such an extent the love, the esteem, the admiration of the natives of the country." This tomb is situated in Saroornagar, 10 km. from Hyderabad city centre. This tomb was made of black granite, conical in shape, about 60 m long, 30 m wide and 10 inches high, is held in great veneration. You can explore from here, less than a kilometer, a French garden where Raymond and his men were stationed. Traces of the military barracks may also still be seen here.

Raymond's Tomb was built in the memory of the brave French General Michel Joachim Marie Raymond (1755 - 1798 AD). He joined as an ordinary soldier in the service of the ruling Nizam of Hyderabad. He rapidly worked his way up and soon commanded the position of an army General. Not only was he respected in the army, he was also popular among the ordinary public. He was fondly known as Musa Ram among the Hindus and Musa Rahim among the Muslims.

Raymond's Tomb is situated in Saroornagar, which lies 10 kilometers from Hyderabad city center towards the east. One can make use of the local transport, which is easily available round the clock in the city of Hyderabad. The tomb is open on all days except Friday. The timings are from 9:30 am to 4:30pm. The tomb is a symbol of great respect and till date people from all over the city pay respect on the death anniversary of the late army general by lighting incense sticks near the tomb.

The Raymond's tomb is a conical structure that is made up of black granite slabs. It is 60 meters long, 30 meters wide and 10 meters high. While touring the tomb, you can also head off to the French Garden, which is located nearby. It is a beautifully laid out lawn with velvety green grass and lovely flowers. You can also spot military barracks of the army that were once bustling under the command of the valiant general Raymond.
Main Attraction of the destination: The French Garden in the vicinity of the Raymond Tomb with manicured lawns and burst of flowers as the much loved booty and make you an eager lover.

The Raymond Tomb is a magnificent conical edifice made of shinning armor of granite, 60 meters long, 30 meters wide and 10 meters high, standing on the pristine circle of a small hill of the eastern Hyderabad. The Tomb of Raymond is located in Saroornagar, lying almost ten kilometers from the city center of Hyderabad.In order to get to the precincts of Raymond's tomb you can get the help of local transport

round the clock. The army general Raymond still is greatly respected by the common hoi polloi, they burn incense sticks in remembrance. Raymond's Tomb was built in the memory of the brave French General Michel Joachim Marie Raymond (1755 - 1798 AD).

Michel Joachin Marie Raymond was an erstwhile military commander and a close friend and confidante of the Nizam of Hyderabad, second Asif Jah. He was conferred power by the Nizam as the Controller of Ordinance; he was the founder of the Gun foundries. He was a much-loved person who earned the respect of the people by his good work and loyalty to the Nizam of the Hyderabad. He got himself two names one Musa Ram called by the Hindus ad the other Musa Rahim.

Timing : 9.30 A.M. to 4.30 P.M.
Open : Daily (Except Fridays )
Attractions Within Raymond Tomb : French Garden


The Nizam's Museum, Hyderabad

The Nizam’s Museum, Hyderabad is located in the famous Purani Haveli of the city. In the year 1750, the site was taken into possession by the second Nizam of the city. Today, this site has become a popular tourist attraction of the place in the form of a museum.

The Nizam’s Museum in Hyderabad is well known for its rich and varied collection of artifacts. The collection basically comprises mementoes and gifts which were given to the last Nizam to mark a celebration of the silver jubilee. Most of the object d'art belongs to the year of 1936.

In the Nizam’s Museum, Hyderabad you will also come across vintage cars of 1930. The showcase includes Rolls Royce, Packard and Mark V Jaguar. Apart from these, you can also see a vast range of the models of the buildings. The models are made of silver and present a good view of the eminent buildings of the city of Hyderabad.

You can also take a look at the Urdu citations about H.E.H. Mir Osman Ali Khan. It is a delight to browse through the golden wooden throne of the Nizam. This throne was used on the occasion of the silver jubilee celebrations of the Nizam.

The Nizam’s Museum, Hyderabad also houses a gold tiffin-box adorned with diamonds, silver coffee cups etched with diamonds and a model of the Jubilee Pavilion. This model is again made of gold. Among these items of interest, you must not give a miss to the silver filigree elephant here.

You can plan a trip to the Nizam’s Museum on any day of the week except Fridays. The entry timing for the museum is between 10.00 A.M. and 5.00 P.M.

After paying a visit to this famous museum of the city, you can go to other popular tourist attractions in Hyderabad. You will surely enjoy a visit to the spots like Charminar, which is 2 km away from the museum of Nizam, and Salar Jung Museum.       


The Salar Jung Museum

The Salar Jung Museum ,The third largest museum in India, the artifacts are kept in 36 huge halls, painstakingly collected by Mir Yusaf Ali Khan, (Salar Jung III), the prime minister of Nizam of Hyderabad. The Salar Jung Museum contains over 35,000 exhibits as varied as Persian carpets, wood carvings, miniatures, armory and clothing. The Jade Room has swords, daggers and clothing of Mughal emperors and Tipu Sultan.

The Salar Jung Museum is an art museum at Dar-Ul-Shifa, on the southern bank of the Musi river in the city of Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India has an exquisite collection of priceless articles like Ivory, Marble sculptures etc.

History

The Salarjung Museum is the third largest museum in India housing the biggest one-man collections of antiques in the world. It is well known throughout India for its prized collections belonging to different civilizations dating back to the 1st century. Nawab Mir Yousuf Ali Khan Salar Jung III (1889-1949), former Prime Minister of the seventh Nizam of Hyderabad, spent a substantial amount of his income over thirty five years to make this priceless collection, his life's passion. The collections left behind in his ancestral palace, 'Diwan Deodi' were formerly exhibited there as a private museum which was inaugurated by Jawaharlal Nehru in 1951. Old timers believe that the present collection constitutes only half of the original art wealth collected by Salar Jung III. His employees siphoned off part of it, since Salar Jung was a bachelor and depended upon his staff to keep a vigil. Some more art pieces were lost or stolen during the shifting of the museum from Dewan Devdi to the present site. [2] Later in 1968, the museum shifted to its present location at Afzalgunj and is administered by a Board of Trustees with the Governor of Andhra Pradesh as ex-officio chairperson under the Salar Jung Museum Act of 1961.


Victoria Jubilee Museum, Vijayawada

The Museum of the Archaeological Department situated on Bandar Road contains beautiful sculptures and attractive paintings worth seeing. Mahishasura Mardhani, Siva as ehamdesa and Buddha images are some of the important exhibits. This two storied building preserves Arms, Armour manuscripts, Textiles, Stone cut writings, Gold and Silver coins which were used by them during their Kingship showing and boasting the beauty of Andhra Pradesh. An example of sculpture art, an idol of Lord Siva sculptured during 4th or 5th centuries can also be seen here.

Timings: 10:30am to 5pm
Closed: Fridays and Public holidays
Entry Fee: Free
Photography: Not Allowed


Warangal Fort

Location
Warrangal Fort, as the name suugests is located in Warrangal city in Andhra Pradesh state. The city lies to the north east of Hyderabad, the state capital. Hyderabad and Warranal are separated by a distance of about 150 kilometres and the two are connected by roads and rails. Warrangal Fort is located towards the south of the city.

Overview
Warrangal Fort, that stands in ruins today used to be one of the most impregnable fort in the state. The fort is located near the Ekashila hill rock and consists of various layers spreading out. The construction of the fort was started by Kakatiyan king Ganapati Deva, in the year 1199 A.D. The construction continued even after the death of the king and was finally completed by his daughter, Rani Rudramadevi, in the year 1261 A.D. The remnants of the fort that are present in the city provide some useful insights of the past civilization that used to occupy these lands.

Features
Warrangal Fort is famous for its architectural splendour as well the history associated with it. The remnants of the fort features immense gateways and towers that stand despite all odds. The towers are well above 50 feet from the ground. The huge pillars of the gateway are amazing as they have been cut from a single rock. The fort has three protective layers spread out to provide the fortification of what used to be the inner precincts and seat of power. Some of the surviving remnants feature delicate carvings and stone work, motifs and patterns depicting animals like lions and swans. Also located within the fort premises are the ruins of temples that were demolished by the early Qutub Shahi rulers. The place is filled with the treasures from the past, one only has to keep an open eye to hit the jackpot.
Getting There

Air: The nearest airports are Hyderabad and Vijayawada, about 157 kms and 249 kms respectively.

Rail: Warangal has a railhead that is well connected to every city in the country.
Bus: Warangal is connected by state buses from Hyderabad, Vijayawada, Karimnagar, Khammam, etc.
 

 A.P.State Museum

A visit to the Andhra Pradesh State Museum is a delight for art lovers. A.P.State Museum Located in the picturesque Public Gardens, the museum boasts of one of the richest repositories of antiques and art objects in the country. A.P.State Museum Built in 1920 by the Nizam VII, the museum building itself is a fine model of Indo-Saracenic architecture.

Located at Hyderabad’s Public Garden, the AP State Museum offers a vibrant and fresh view of the culture and art of Andhra Pradesh. It is also the state’s oldest museum and one of its finest. It is the culmination of a ruler and his state’s passion and steadfast desire to preserve the rich cultural heritage of his governed state; the result is a building that has become one of Hyderabad’s frequent tourist stops.

Unlike other buildings of importance in Hyderabad, the AP State Museum was not constructed for the sole purpose of having a museum; instead, it owes much of its existence to the last Nizam’s desire to preserve his state’s heritage amidst British rule. To this end, he created the Department of Archaeology in 1915. From then on, the department played an active role in conducting several explorations and excavations of historical sites as well as the preservation of historical monuments. Finally, it came to the point that the collection became too huge that they needed a place to house it all. So, in 1930, the museum was erected in the premises of the Public Garden in Hyderabad. Back then, the museum was known simply as the Hyderabad Museum.

From 1950 on, the museum started collecting works of contemporary artists and, in 1968, its name was changed to the AP State Museum and administered by the state government of Andhra Pradesh. There are many galleries devoted to stone sculptures, bronze works, manuscripts, modern paintings, and textiles, among others. By nature, the museum has remained mainly research-oriented, bringing out several publications about its varied collection.

The AP State Museum’s building itself is a beauty in architecture and construction, embodying a distinct Indo-Saracenic style. Inside, the museum boasts a wide range of well-structured chambers and galleries that show the different phases of human history and civilization. The galleries each house an exquisite collection of rare arts and antiquities, most of which are priceless.

Buddhist and Hindu sculptures hold prominent places in two of the museum’s galleries, belying the museum’s origins. The Buddhist artifacts date as far back as the second and third centuries BC. The Hindu collection, on the other hand, represent sculptures of the Chalukyan period and Vijayanagara period. Lastly, there is an authentic Egyptian mummy, the daughter of the sixth pharaoh of Egypt, which was donated by the seventh Nizam of Hyderabad.


Amaravati Museum

Amaravati Museum collection includes the antiquities from other Buddhist sites in Andhra Pradesh belonging to the 3rd Century BC to about the 12th Century AD, a gold necklace from Gummadidurru, relic-caskets with bone-relics and gold flowers.

About Amaravathi
Amaravati, an ancient city, locally known as Dipaldinne or 'Hill of Lamps', is a small town near Guntur. It is situated on the banks of river Krishna in the state of Andhra Pradesh in India. The site of Amaravati is just next to a place called Dharanikota, also called as Dhanyakataka (Town of Paddy). It was the capital of the Satavahana Kings- the first kings of Andhra, during 1st to 3rd century AD. This place is famous for the temple of Lord Siva and hence it is also known as 'punyakshetra' (A holy place). 
The presence of River Krishna makes the place even more sacred. This beautiful place is also a famous Buddhist pilgrimage all over the world as there are Buddhist sculptures and giant Maha Stupas. Amaravati is popular for the Amareshwara temple, a temple dedicated to Lord Shiva. There is also a Buddha Stupa that is famous all over the world. 
Also, an Archaeological museum depicts some of the sculptures found at Amaravati Stupas, coins of gold, silver and lead used during historic days.

History
The existence of the region dates back to the Early Stone Age as is found from the tools such as hand axes, cleavers, discoid and scrapers, discovered here. But the recorded history of Amaravati begins from the time of Ashoka, the Mauryan Emperor. This can be known from the quartzite pillar that has an inscription of the Emperor. Later, after their decline, the Satavahanas chose Dharanikota (near Amaravati) as their capital. Then the region was ruled by Ikshvaku rulers and then the Pallavas ruled the region before migrating to Kanchipuram in Tamil Nadu. 

In the early history of Amaravati, somewhere in the year 1796, an enterprising landlord shifted his residency from busy Chintapalli to deserted Amaravati. Soon other people followed and Amaravati became a small dwelling with houses and roads. During the construction of houses, the workers often found limestone slabs and large bricks below the ground. This information reached Colonel Cloin Mackenzie, who visited the site twice in the year 1787 and 1818. He prepared drawings and sketches of the relics in the area and very soon several European scholars like Sir Walter Smith, Robert Sewell, James Burgess and Alexander Rea excavated the site. They unearthed many sculptures that once adorned the place. Very recently the Archaeological Survey of India conducted further excavations in this area. 

When it comes to art, Amaravati is considered as one of the three major style schools of ancient Indian art. Some of the sculptures found here depict the Greco-Roman influence as a result of close trade and diplomatic contacts between south India and ancient Rome.

How to reach
Amaravati can be easily reached by road and rail. It can be well reached by APSRTC buses from Hyderabad, Guntur and other nearby towns and villages. The best way is to drive along or hire private taxis that are available in plenty. Amaravati is also connected by rail with nearest station being at Guntur and Vijayawada. The nearest airport is Vijayawada which is 82kms from Amaravati. You can catch bus no 301 from Vijayawada bus station to reach this place. It will take hardly 2 hours to reach here.
From Vijayawada Amaravathi can be reached by road (car) in two different paths.
1. Once you cross the Prakasam Barrage you get a small bylane adjoinging the AP tourism restaurant. You can follow this road. The road has very nice views.On one side you the Krishna River on the right and on the left lush green fields adorn the way. You dont get many villages on the way, but care should be taken as the road is narrow and if any bullock cart/ tractor comes on the opposite side or you need to overtake a bullock cart/ tractor you need be really cautious as if you miss the road there will be a steep fall of more than 15 feet. But to admire the beauty of the country side during the dawn or dusk it is worth

2. When you go towards Mangalagiri, just before reaching Mangalaragi (you can see 11km stone) take a right side by lane. This road to Amaravathi has innumerable villages and 2-3 culverts on the way. If it is a rainy season chances of these culverts overflowing and hampering your further journey are innumerable.
Both these roads touch Vaikuntapuram where you can get breath taking view of the river only if you care to trek for about 20 minutes


Asman Garh Palace

Asman Garh was designed and built by Sir Osman Jah, a noble belonging to the Paigah family and single time Prime Minister of Hyderabad State.

Asman Garh Palace is one of main attractions in Hyderabad. Hyderabad is the city of various Nawabs and palaces where you can explore the root of Indian culture and tradition. Indian has a rich heritage where various dynasties had left their mark in for of various historical monuments. Visiting Hyderabad is always a retreat that gives you the scope to revert the days behind.

Vijaynagar and its capital Chandragiri host various ancient palaces and forts and Asman Garh Fort is a must visit place for every traveler visiting Hyderabad. The palaces were built in 1000 AD and later the kings of Vijaynagar renovated and extended the palace area and construction.

The palace is built with granite turrets and arches windows gives a picturesque view on the city from the hill top. The palace is located in Hyderabad, the state capital of Hyderabad. The local buses and autos are the best as local transport. Apart from that you can reach Hyderabad by air, rail and road route as the city is well connected with other parts of the country and foreign lands.

Being the land full of activities and tourist attractions, this land is well equipped with varieties of hotels that range from luxurious resorts to cheap hotels. All kinds of tourists can avail nay hotel according to their choice and budget.

The local stalls and the recognized shops are ideal for buying local handicrafts and other products. Hyderabad is famous for fabrics and saris.

Indiaprofile offers local tours in Andhra Pradesh.

There are the following monuments that will give you the scope to know-how rich past Andhra Pradesh experiences.
             

Bhagavan Mahavir Government Museum

Bhagavan Mahavir Government Museum of historical and archeological significance is the Bhagavan Mahavir Government Museum in Cuddapah. Bhagavan Mahavir Government Museum is a money house of very old stone sculptures, bronze icons and inscriptions dating back to several centuries.

Bhagavan Mahavir Government Museum, Cuddapah - 97
There are ancient stone sculptures, idols and inscriptions dating back several centuries, displayed in this museum.

Guys, Bhagavan Mahavir Government Museum settled in Cuddapah is of historical and archaeological meaning. It was demonstrated in 1982 with the contributions of given by Jain businessmen and hence was named after their deity 'Mahavir'.

It is families ancient stone sculptures, idols made of granite, dolomite, limestone, sandstone, bronze icons and inscriptions dating back to several centuries. These gaffers were came upon during diggings carried out at various places in Cuddapah, Hyderabad and Kurnool districts. These sculptures, which date back to the period from the 5th to 18th century, have been excavated from Nandalur, Mantapampally, Gundluru, Attirala, Thimmayapalem, Kolathur, Poli and other villages.

Guys, you can find here some unusual forms of deities, a statue of Lord Ganapathi with his feet corresponding that of an elephant and a statue of Hanuman dating back to Vijayanagar period with long hair tied up in a lace. The idols of Dakshapathi belonging to the Chalukya period with a goat's head and Lord Shiva dating back to 9th and 10th century with Ganga not over the head but on one side of it are unique. The image of Vishnu is shown holding a 'sankhu' (conch) in the right hand and a club in the left but usually Vishnu forms have a 'chakram' in the right hand and a conch in the left.

Some other displays include coins dating back to the Satavahana period, Ikshawakus, Bahmanis, Vishnukundins, Mughals and Qutub Shahi's and also have miniature paintings including swords and knives of the Mughal age. Other antique pieces at the museum include 'Veerashila' idols showing tribal warlords. Ancient stone tools and weapons of varying sizes and shapes also adorn the hall.

You can visit here from 10.30 am to 05.00 pm except Fridays And Public Holidays. Here is no charge to visit this excellent place. Do not keep cameras, because photography is not allowed.

How to get there?

Rail:
This museum is settled on the busy road of the railway station in Cuddapah. Taxis auto rickshawas and city buses are available.


Charminar

The Charminar is as much the signature of Hyderabad as the Taj Mahal is of Agra or the Eiffel Tower is of Paris. Charminar stands in the heart of the old city. Built in 1591 to mark the end of an epidemic of plague it is a magnificent edifice. It is believed to have been built as a charm to ward off a deadly epidemic raging at that time.


The Pride of Andhra
Situated in the heart of Hyderabad, Charminar has become the most famous face of the city. In fact it is the most recognized monument in entire Andhra Pradesh. It is around Charminar that entire Hyderabad developed into a world class city. Famous for its unique architecture, the exquisite arch of glory is the masterpiece of Qutb Shahi Dynasty. Also called as 'The Arc de triomphe of the East', Charminar is called so, because of the four Minars that adorn all the four corners of the monument. Some even believe that the four minars may be depicting the first four khalifs of Islam.

The Story Behind Charminar
The magnificent monument was built in the year 1591 by Muhammad Quli Qutb Shah. It is said that he built it to signify the eradication of plague shortly after he shifted his capital from Golconda to Hyderabad. He had vowed to build a Masjid at the very place if the plague ended. And accordingly, he built the Charminar. The top floor of Charminar has a Masjid which has 45 covered praying spaces. There is more open space to accommodate more people during Friday Namaaz (Prayers). There are around four floors which were all meant to be used for imparting education. But the British used it as a warehouse for opium and liquor. It is said that during the Mughal rule, the south eastern minar was destroyed by a lightning strike. It was then rebuilt in the year 1824.

The Speciality of Charminar
Charminar is built of granite and lime mortar which were available locally. One gets to see exquisite forms of Indo Islamic architecture in Charminar. The amalgamation of Indian style and Islamic style is clearly visible in the monument. Though more emphasis is given to Islamic architecture. Its uniqueness lies in the fact that, instead of minars being built separately, like in Taj Mahal, they are infused in the main structure itself. Charminar is a square monument that rise to a height of 20 m, The pointed minarets on all the four corners rise further 28.7 m to total a height of 48.7 m from the ground. All the minarets are divided into four storeys that look like rings encircling the minaret. Apart from the minaret, other dominating feature of the monument are the four huge arches on all sides of the Charminar. They are 11 m wide and 20 m high. Notice the clock that has been put up on top of all the four arches. At the top of Charminar, there are two galleries and a terrace. From inside, the galleries are scintillatingly beautiful with walls filled with moldings and carvings. To reach the upper floor, you have to climb 149 steps through the minarets. One is not allowed to go above that. Even from this position, one gets a mesmerizing view of the nearby areas of Old city Hyderabad.

And to get even more mesmerizing view of Charminar, the best time is at night when the monument is illuminated from top to bottom. Along with the Charminar, one can count the nearby market too, as an attraction for the tourists. In this market you can get everything from traditional to modern, though it is better to go for traditional items. It is said that during its peak, the market had more than 14,000 shops in it and people coming from all India to buy and sell items.
You would not want to miss out on this marvel for anything in the world. Such is the sheer brilliance and charm of Charminar that it puts even the most modern buildings to shame. A landmark for Hyderabad, it is a pride for the entire Andhra Pradesh.


Charminar, Charminar historical, Charminar travel, Charminar tourism, Charminar Historical Place, travel to Charminar


Falaknuma Palace

Falaknuma Palace is located in Falaknuma, about 4 km South of Charminar. Falaknuma Palace Built in 1870 by Nawab Vikar-Ul-Ulmara, the Prime Minister of Hyderabad, it is a stupendous palace which has a image gallery, a luxurious welcome hall with cabinets containing diamond, crystal and emerald objects. Falaknuma Palace is a rare blend of Italian and Tudor architecture.


FALAKNUMA PALACE HISTORY

Falaknuma Palace is situated on a hill 650 meters in height, in the southern part of Old City of Hyderabad, India. It was built by the Paigah, Nawab Vikar-ul-Umra. It was purchased by the then Nizam VI during 1897 for use as a royal guest house, and its hospitality became unmatched during the heyday. The palace provides a good view of Hyderabad.
The palace is spread out in a scorpion shape with two pincers spread out as wings on the north. The middle part occupies the main building. The Harem quarters and the kitchen stretch towards the south.
The palace was designed by an Italian architect in western style, and took 9 years for construction, and is completely built with Italian Marble. The foundation stone was laid on 3rd March, 1884.
Falaknuma houses a collection of rare treasures collected by the Nizam including paintings, furniture, statues. The Jade collection of the Palace is unique in the world.
The palace boasts of lavishly decorated interiors made of the Italian marble, and follows a western architectural style. And the Marble Hall of the Palace is one of the highlights.It took almost nine years to complete. This famous palace houses a large collection of rare treasures, paintings, statues, furniture, manuscripts and books collected by the Nizam. The jade collection displayed here is considered to be unique in the world. Some old models of artillery are also exhibited in the front.
The staircase of the Falaknuma Palace, has the portraits of all the guests who stayed there, with stature no less than the Governor-General of India, is supported by carved balustrades and marble figures. The palace also has a library containing most valuable collection of books and manuscripts.
The Palace also has the distinction of having a 100-seat dining table.
The Palace is now converted into a heritage hotel by the Taj Hotels group


Gandhi Hill

The first Gandhi Memorial with seven stupas in the country was constructed on this hill at a height of 500 ft. The 52 ft. stupa was unveiled on 6th October, 1968 by Dr. Zakir Hussain, the then President of India.

On 6th October, 1968 the tallest structure in the Vijaywada skyline, the monument built in the memory of Father of the Nation Mahatma Gandhi with 7 Stupas was unveiled by late Dr. Zakir Hussain, the President of India. It is the first Gandhi Memorial in India constructed on a hillock. 15.8 m. high,gandhi stupa on this gandhi hill which is at a height of 500 ft which was formally known as "Orr Hill". It has the teachings of Gandhi inscribed on stone slabs . The Gandhi Memorial Library, Sound & Light Show and Planetarium are the added attractions of Gandhi Hill, climb to the top of the hill for a bird's eye view of the town , which attract the tourists. Vijayawada city. Gandhi Memorial Library, the Sound and Light Show on Mahatma Gandhi's life and a planetarium are the other attractions.

Gandhi hill is really a monument of India’s independence struggle and encloses stone slabs with the inscriptions of teachings of Gandhi. This is a nice place to pay homage to FATHER OF THE NATION, MAHATMA GANDHI.


Golconda Fort

Golconda is one of the well-known forts of India. The name originates from the Telugu words 'Golla Konda' meaning "Shepherd's Hill". Golconda was originally a mud fort, which passed to the Bahmani dynasty and later to the Qutb Shahis, who held it from 1518 to 1687 A.D. The first three Qutb Shahi kings rebuilt Golconda, over a span of 62 years.

Golconda  Fort considered as one of the seven wonders of Andhra Praesh, it is one of the most beautiful Forts of Andhra. It can be easily reached from Hyderabad via road as the fort is only 11 kms from hyderabad City. It is the same city from which the world known diamonds like KOHINOOR came from. Luxury buses and cabs are easily available to take you to the fort.

Flashback
Mankal is the other name of the place where Golconda Fort is situated. It derives its name from the Kai Temple which to this date exists in the premises of the Fort. And as the story goes the Fort derives its name from the name Golla Konda, which in Telgu means The Shepherds Hill. It is so said that a little shepherd boy came across an idol which lead to the construction of a mud fort by the then Kaktiya Dynasty ruler of the Kingdom which is today knowm as the Maha Kali Temple(Temple of Goddess Kali).
The fort was administered by Recherla Vellamas who ruled over Golkonda, Rajaconda and Devarconda. Their capital was Rajaconda. After the defeat of the Recherla Velamma kingdom, the three forts were ruled by the Bahamani Kings (1364). When the Bahamani Kingdom collapsed, Golkonda rose to prominence as the seat of the Qutb Shahi dynasty around 1507. Over a period of 62 years the mud fort was expanded by the first three Qutb Shahi kings into a massive fort made up of Granite. It remained so until the capital was shifted to Hyderabad. The qutab Shahis were then blown over by Aurangzeb in 1687 who eventually took over the Golconda Fort.
Quick Facts
Language – Urdu, English, Hindi
Clothings – Warm woollens on winter and cottons in summer.
Best time – September to Feburary
Visit Timings- 06 am to 06 pm
The Fort
Golconda Fort has four distinct forts inside it, with a 10 km outer wall with 87 semi – circular bastions. It has the great cannons to boast of, eight gateways, four draw bridges and royal apartments, mosques, temples inside the circumference of the fort. Then there is the Fateh Darwaza ( The Gate of Victory) with giant iron spikes. This Gate is also famous for its architecture – a hand clap at a peculiar point (ask your Guide for that particular point), below the dome at the entrance reverberates and can be heard at Bala Hisar Pavilion, the highest point around one kilometer away from the Darwaza. (In the olden days it acted as a warning for the residents of the Fort).
Golconda Fort has four distinct forts inside it, with a 10 km outer wall with 87 semi – circular bastions. It has the great cannons to boast of, eight gateways, four draw bridges and royal apartments, mosques, temples inside the circumference of the fort. Then there is the Fateh Darwaza ( The Gate of Victory) with giant iron spikes. This Gate is also famous for its architecture – a hand clap at a peculiar point (ask your Guide for that particular point), below the dome at the entrance reverberates and can be heard at Bala Hisar Pavilion, the highest point around one kilometer away from the Darwaza. (In the olden days it acted as a warning for the residents of the Fort).

In and Around
The Clay Pipes :
Though they sound ordinary, these clay pipes fitted into the wall planks provided sufficient supply to the uphill residents. A series of Persian Wheels carried water to the upper terrace where the pipes channalised the water into gardens, kitchens, cisterns etc.
Not to be Missed
The Sound and Light Show :
This is the show which brings along the past with audio and video. Dance, music and rythm follows as the show proceeds with the history of Golconda. The show is presented in Telgu, English and Hindi.
Show Timings: Winter (November – February) 6:30pm, Summer (March – October) 7:00pm
Duration: 55 minutes
In English: Wednesday, Sunday In Hindi: Tuesday, Friday, and Saturday In Telugu: Thursday Closed on: Mondays

Some Suggestions
Its not only the fort that’s beautiful but also the Golconda city, if you are here do go around the city for a wonderful experience. Char Minar, Hussain Sagar, Birla Temple are some of the places to go for in Hydeabad. Contact us for a one day tour.
 Keep your baggage light as most of the traveling things are easily available in the city.


Golconda Fort, Golconda Fort historical, Golconda Fort travel, Golconda Fort tourism, Golconda Fort Historical Place


Qutb Shahi Tombs

The history of Hyderabad begins with the establishment of the Qutub Shahi dynasty. Owing to the inadequacy of water and frequent epidemics of plague and cholera Quli Qutub Shah established the new city with the Charminar at its centre with four great roads fanning out in four cardinal directions.

The Qutub Shahi Tombs are not to be missed tourists attractions in Hyderabad, these Royal Tombs lie in the heart of the city. The Qutub Shahi Tombs are located in the vicinity of the Golconda Fort. The royal cemetery of Qutub Shahi kings are an ostentation display of arches, domes, minarets and columns, most of the tombs are a marvel of Indo-Persian and Deccan architectural style.

These tombs are a living testimony of the splendor and magnificence of Golconda and its kings, the Qutub Shahi Tombs still retain their original glory despite the combined attack of time, weather and man. After the reign of the Qutab Shahi period these tombs were neglected, until Sir Salar Jung III ordered for their restoration in the early 19 th centaury.

There are seven tombs of the members of the royal family of Qutub Shahi rulers amidst the Ibrahim Bagh.

The Qutab Shahi Tombs are placed in two separate galleries in Ibrahim Bagh. The garden is the burial ground of all the Qutab Shahi kings, excepting the last monarch. The gallery of tombs consists of small and large imprinted structures.

The smaller tombs are made of a single storey while the larger ones, like that of Mohammed Quli's Tomb feature two storeys. The grandest of all tombs is that of Mohammed Quli, built in 1602. The tomb stands below a vault under the terrace and bears the inscriptions written in Persian and Naskh scripts. The tomb can be reached through the southern and the eastern gates.

All these royal Qutub Shahi Tombs are not only architecturally wonders but also make a good picnic spot. Every year the State Government authorities here perform a 'Deccan Festival', which is exclusive to the city of Hyderabad with these tombs as the backdrop as they verbalize volumes about the history of the city of Hyderabad. Also the artists showcase their talents-music, dance, theater, etc inside the vicinity of the garden.

Timings: 9.30 am – 6.30 pm
Entry Fee: Rs. 10 to 20 for Indian Nationals, Rs. 100. For Foreign Nationals
Contact: +91 40 – 23513410

Qutb Shahi Tombs,Qutb Shahi Tombs historical, Qutb Shahi Tombs travel, Qutb Shahi Tombs tourism, Qutb Shahi Tombs            


Kondapalli Fort

Kondapalli Fort is located 16 km away towards West from Vijayawada City and is built on a hill. Prolaya Vema Reddy, build this fort during 14th Century. Later came under the rule of the Qutubshahis who strengthened and eloborated by totaling new structures.

The Kondapalli fort is located in Kondapalli village in Krishna District of Andhra Pradesh. The fort has glorious history. The fort gives the proof of many families. The fort was built in 14th century. The fort was constructed by Prolaya Vema Reddy of kodaveedu. After that the fort came under the control of Qutub Shahis and they repaired it. Actually this fort was constructed in Kondapalli village which is at 16 km in the west of the city of Vijayawada. Relaxation and the entertaining are the main purpose of the fort.
The fort built on the hill which is in the Krishna District. There is one three-storied rock tower. Also there are dargah of a Persian saint, Gareeb Saheeb. These are the attraction points in the fort. Right now tourism development is responsible for the maintenance of the fort. Also there is one Gajasala that is the place of elephant. Elephant stay in it. One can see the remnants of central fort and the jails of that time.
The fort is located in Krishna District. The fort is at 16 km away from the Vijayawada city. And this Vijayawada city is around 275 km away from the Hyderabad city. Hyderabad is one of the important and well connected city so one can easily reach at Hyderabad. There are lots of buses and trains are available form all other cities. One can easily reach at fort from Vijayawada. The frequency of buses from the Vijayawada city is good. Also there are private cabs are available.


Kondapalli Fort, Kondapalli Fort historical, Kondapalli Fort travel, Kondapalli Fort tourism, Kondapalli Fort Historical
Legislative Assembly, Legislative Assembly historical, Legislative Assembly travel, Legislative Assembly tourism            
 

Osmania University

Osmania University established in 1918 by the late Nizam of Hyderabad, Osmania University was the first university in India to impart education in a vernacular language the university buildings are splendid, especially the Arts College building which is a perfect example of Indo Saracenic architecture.


The VIIth Nizam of Hyderabad, Nawwab Mir Osman Ali Khan, founded Osmania University, Hyderabad in 1917.

It is the seventh oldest university in India and is a multi-faculty and multidisciplinary university, which has significantly contributed to the academic development of the country. Osmania University has shown remarkable progress and sustained an integrated development of all its faculties.

With a sprawling campus of nearly 1600 acres, Osmania University is home to nearly 3,00,000 students pursuing their higher studies in its Campus, Constituent, affiliated Colleges and District Centres. Its has nearly 5000 staff numbers and faculty. In the year 2001, Osmania University was awarded the Five Star status by the National Accreditation and Assessment Council (NAAC) of the University Grants Commission.

Osmania University offers offering rich and varied courses in the fields of Humanities, Arts, Sciences, Social Sciences, Law, Engineering, Medicine, Technology, Commerce, Business Management, Information Technology and Oriental Languages.

The Engineering Colleges affiliated with Osmania University are:
Osmania University College of Engineering (OUCE)
Osmania University College of Technology (OUCT)
Chaitanya Bharathi Institute of Technology
Vasavi College of Engineering
Mufakhkham Jah College Of Engineering and Technology
M.V.S.R College of Engineering
Deccan College of Engineering


Osmania University, Osmania University historical, Osmania University travel, Osmania University tourism       

 
Paigah Tombs

Paigah Tombs Built of lime and mortar, these tombs are outstanding examples of Indo-Saracenic architecture.

The Paigah Tombs in Hyderabad, India are the tombs of the several generations of the Paigah nobles. The Paigah nobles were very close to the Nizams and so they enjoyed a significant social status. They were given the responsibility of looking after the security and defense of the state. Some of the Paigah nobles who have been laid to rest here are Asman Jah, Viqar-ul-Umara and Shams-ul-Umara. Abdul Fateh Khan Tegh Jung founded the Paigah nobility and was rendering service to the second Nizam, who ruled between 1760 and 1803. The Nizam bestowed him with the prestigious title of Shams-ul-Umra, meaning the Sun among the masses. Tegh Jung was buried in 1786 at the foyer of the complex.

An iron plaque at the entrance of the complex traces the Paigah lineage and exalts the marble magnificence of the vault. The Paigahs were also great patrons of fine arts, literature and sports and commanded the respect of the rulers and the ordinary people alike. The Paigah Tombs are unique specimens of extraordinary artistry that is ardently visible in the wonderfully inlaid mosaic work. Local people claim that the geometrical patterns and designs of these stunning tombs are only one of its kind and exclusive and cannot be found anywhere in the world.

Paigah Tombs, Paigah Tombs historical, Paigah Tombs travel, Paigah Tombs tourism, Paigah Tombs Historical Place


Purani Haveli

Purani Haveli Built by the first Nizam of Hyderabad, it is a large building bounded by high walls where the Nizam used to hold his cabinet council meetings.

Purani Haveli in Hyderabad was the official residence of the Nizam during those times and now it is converted as the Nizam Museum and is open for public visits. Purani Haveli is also known by the name Haveli Khadeem which refers to as old mansion from its meaning. It was constructed by Ali Khan Bahadur Asaf Jah II for his son Sikander Jah, Asaf Jah III. Purani Haveli architecture is unique in its way because of the U shape structure and the two wings built in parallel with each other. The residential area of the Nizam is built perpendicularly and is in the middle. Purani Haveli reflects the 18th century European palaces. The palace has the worlds longest ward robe built in two layers and occupies the entire wing of the palace and the hand cranked wooden lift in the ward robe helps to move to either directions.